Reviews

Margie C.F. - New York Cari H. - Idaho Stephanie B. - Idaho
Marilee D. - Idaho Deborah W. - California Kim D. - Idaho
Terri L. - Texas Kandi S. - Idaho Diana M.J. - California
Sue F. - Idaho Gregg M. - California Brad L. - Idaho
Stuart S. - California Melody R. - Georgia Wendy M. - California
Jeannie W. - Idaho Trisha O. - Tennesee Mary Nichelson - Review
     


Mary Nichelson - Book Review

Reviewed on The Wordsmith Journal Magazine and Amazon

Back to Top

September 1st, 2013
5.0 out of 5 stars

Just as the heart is the control center for life, children are the central love force of a parent’s being. There are few written examples from a father’s perspective, making David Wood’s book, Pieces of My Heart-Finding God in Our Everyday Lives, invaluable.

As explained in his book, puzzle pieces independent of each other appear meaningless and without purpose. It is easy, even, to say they don’t belong in the bigger picture. Once they are interconnected, shapes form, and you realize that fragment was crucial to the finished product. Everyday events are like that and can seem random until you step back and see a bigger picture forming.

The author takes on a double-meaning in reference to pieces of his heart; his book was written for his children, who ultimately each hold a portion of his emotional life force. Those pieces of his heart are also short, devotional-like chapters written with a lesson learned in relation to his other life force, God. His goal is for the reader to view random life events as a small piece of a larger puzzle, making each day rich with revelation.

Although the various topics are written succinctly and can be read in just a few minutes, it will be hard to peruse just one chapter at a time. His wisdom is periodically overshadowed briefly by his humor, making Pieces of My Heart as entertaining as it is applicable. Don’t be surprised if you are repeating many of his adventures around the water cooler or at the ball field.

Understanding life piece by piece can be difficult, but as David points out, “Though we try and try, it is just not possible. But God sees the picture that is on the outside of the box. He has the big picture, the finished puzzle, the completed vision.” He’s doing what all good fathers do; affirming life and love while dishing out hope and meaning in the process.

(The Wordsmith Journal strives to guide readers to books of personal interest, with the understanding and respect that what appeals to some may not appeal to others. Therefore we attempt to keep our reviews focused on content, genre and style. The rating is necessary to make use of Goodreads and Amazon. It reflects the reviewer's own level of enjoyment, but the review is intended to be informative for the benefit of all readers.)


Trisha O.'s Journey - Crossville, TN.

Back to Top

April 17th, 2013
David, thank you so much for sending me your Book "Pieces of My Heart".  It has been a pleasure reading it and I want to thank you for sharing your life with all of us.  We take so many things for granted in this life.  We need to take more time to stop and be thankful for even the smallest of blessings.

I enjoyed the way you took an everyday situation and showed how God fits in to even the simplest situation and can bring it around to our good.  I especially enjoyed the way that you can find humor in everyday life.  It's important to not take things so seriously and stop and enjoy a little bit of laughter now and then.  I think we often forget to laugh at ourselves.  We are so busy trying to do things the way we think they should be done, that we lose some of our joy.

I just finished Volume One and I am looking forward to Volume Two.  I find reading your book is a great way to end the day with a grateful heart and a little laughter.  Thank you again so much David.  Your book is such a blessing!  I plan on sharing my books with some of my friends when I am finished reading.

Your sister in Christ,
Trisha


Jeannie W.'s Journey - Garden City, Id.

Back to Top

April 7th, 2013
L-O-V-E-D reading your reviews.  I can't wait to devour your book day-by-day! 

I commented on your facebook today - about your Dental Hygienist appointment, in your second story.  I laughed and laughed as I read it - and continued to laugh afterward as well.  And then, admired the way you weave in our awesome Daddy God into even the tiny facets of each day. 

I read your heart - and my spirit is soooo in agreement with the way you bring life to "life!".....His life.....His plan.....His awareness of where we are in Him every second of the day.  I didn't know anyone else out there felt the Lord the way I do.  You have affirmed parts of my faith, which I never completely believed anyone else out there felt or understood.

Your book will continue to open hearts and minds to accept "who they truly are in Christ" as they acknowledge His very personal desire to be a part of our every day walk.

Thank you for sharing so much of yourself as He shines through you!!!

Love and blessings,
Jeannie


Wendy M.'s Journey - Garden Grove, Ca.

Back to Top

March 4th, 2013
In the wise words of Forrest Gump’s mama, “Life is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you’re gonna get.”

The same is true of the sweet treasures found in this book. When I reach for it, I might not even know what I need but I just know I need something. Without fail, I am blessed by reading a story or two. The breadth of David’s writing style and the depth of his personal experiences combine with his transparent response to God to reach out and impact my weary heart.

Sometimes it comes in the form of laughter or tears, and sometimes I simply receive an “aha” in my spirit as God gently speaks to me through the stories. Quite simply, this book is a blessing, full of encouragement and tangible reminders of our Heavenly Father’s great love for us!

As David shares pieces of his own heart, tenderly meant for his children, I find a connection with pieces of my own heart that are longing to meet a fellow traveler on this journey of life who lets me know that I’m not alone, my struggles are real and I’m loved in my imperfection.

Thank you to my Junior High schoolmate and friend for giving of your gifts, opening your life to us with such honesty and drawing us closer to the heart of God!

Wendy M.

(Wendy is a former Los Angeles Baptist Jr/High School classmate of David Wood)


Melody R.'s Journey - Robins AFB, GA.

Back to Top

February 27th, 2013
David,

You know how it is said that we are separated by 6 degrees? I am sure you have, but nonetheless, reading your book, spiritually and everyday living, I really think that for most of us it much closer than that.

Your short stories of your life and how it impacted you and others are just like most of us. The good thing is that you are really good about writing and sharing them. For me I could relate to so many things you wrote about. I laughed, I cried, I could feel it! I felt like I was there.

Thank you for sharing with us pieces of your life. The blessings that will be going out and have gone out by your book is so wonderful!

Thanking God for all of the roads traveled. Blessings to you and your family!

Melody R.


Stuart S.'s Journey - Calabasas, Ca.

Back to Top

February 18th, 2013
I don’t often write reviews, let alone write a review on a book that has, in part, been responsible for my spiritual journey over the past 2 or so years. But “Pieces of My Heart” is one of those rare books that I highly recommend and which also deserves a piece of my heart as a part of this review.

As a man, I found myself, slowly over time, disconnecting my heart from the world that was so important to me. I’ve had business successes and failures, marriage and divorce, death and other personal devastations that seemingly shaped my existence. My heart slowly began to shut down and survival seemed to be my only action.

It’s not to say that I didn’t enjoy my life, I did. I seemed happy and others thought I was happy. But there is a big difference between simply enjoying life and having a life that is full and a heart that is open. I had accepted the cruel fact that I was just one of those people that would never experience true love and the best thing for me to do was to make the best of it.

Then, one day, I was fortunate to read one of Dave’s not so funny stories (Stuart read the story, "The Final Chapter")  that cracked open my heart exposing emotions that had long been forgotten. To be honest, I cried for hours and through that emotional story, I began my journey which has led to me to a full life, and open heart.

"Pieces of My Heart" is filled with great short stories that anyone can easily relate. Some funny, some not so funny, but all are real and guaranteed to add to your life.

Stuart S.


BRAD L.'S Journey - Meridian, Idaho

Back to Top

February 15th, 2013
David Wood’s book: Pieces of My Heart is a moving collection of fun, funny, thought-provoking, quirky, embarrassing, deep, spiritual and heart-felt stories. 

David writes with just the right amount of detail and depth to cause the reader to get into the scenario and then to be led to an “ah-ha” moment.  This is not a “preachy” book, but rather a book that reads like a private journal. 

David wrote for his children, but the things he has experienced have implications and applications for any reader.  I recommend you dive into David’s heart and see what blessings will come your way!

Brad L.


Gregg M.'s Journey - Garden Grove, Ca.

Back to Top

February 10th, 2013
“Pieces of My Heart” is a book I always keep on my desk. I find myself reaching for it like a thirsty cactus sipping a single drop of rain. When I am dry from my daily grind, David’s short stories are captivating and uplifting and always cause me to see God’s love in a different and distinctive way. His refreshing personal words are healing, humorous, and always seems to quench my heart, time and time again.

Gregg M.


Sue F.'s Journey - Boise, Idaho

Back to Top

February 9th, 2013
David Wood, husband, father, friend, softball player, author.

You might say he sees life's from a perspective way over my head, since he's about 6'3"and I'm pushing 5'2". But he's the kind of guy that gets down and rolls around in the mud. And after doing so, views his experience with a sense of humor and charm.

A man who walks with God, and God with him. His wit and ability to see God's hand in everything around him will give you pause to think.... hmmm, I hadn't thought about it that way. Soon your tears of laughter, cringing at puns, and smiles of images give way to a soft lesson in God loves for us all, no matter what the journey.

Take a walk through this book. It's for the linear thinker as well as the abstract. You can read the stories from the first to the last, or start in the middle of the book and read out. After you are done, you may want to write your own story.

Thanks Dave, for sharing the "Pieces of Your Heart."

Sue F.


Diana M.J.'s Journey - California

Back to Top

February 5th, 2013
Dear David,

"Pieces of My Heart" is like being invited to sit on the sofa with you and our Heavenly Father (Abba, Daddy), while you paint a picture about the funny things that happened that day. You honor our Father by recalling His Word and by giving Him the glory. Ordinary events become extraordinary divine interventions with Biblical truths and lessons. It reminds me of Jesus' method of telling parables to the disciples.

I appreciated your punny humor and hilarious analogies, your transparency, your imagination, but especially your ability to make Jesus real in our daily lives.

Thank you, Lord, for inspiring David to share his personal walk with You. I pray that many people will read this book and realize that with You by our side we can claim victory over the spiritual battles that we face each day.

Love in Christ,
Diana M.J.

(Diana is a former Los Angeles Baptist Jr/High School classmate of David Wood)


Kandi S.'s Journey - Nampa, Idaho

Back to Top

February 5th, 2013
David,

Your book became the companion to my daily devotions and reading in God's word.  At first, I was hesitant to read your book because reading takes me away from the other things I want to do.  But guess what?  Your book BECAME that other thing!

I usually read it at night before I went to bed, (but sometimes I would read it throughout the day) and I would find myself reading into the wee hours of the morning because I just couldn't put it down.  I was so impressed with your honesty and how your stories related to all of us and how we live our lives.  I think that even the "younger" generation would benefit from it!

In one paragraph I was sobbing and the very next one I was laughing uncontrollably!  The inspiration in your book comes from seeing God for who He really is.  Praying with you after every chapter and reading how you explained God in each story really spoke to me at every level.

Small groups could benefit from this book by reading and having a study after each chapter.  And, if I might add...listening to your music from one of your CD's before or after a study is just simply good for the soul and I find I am able to delve even deeper into God's word and bask in His great love for me.

I am excited to see what you have planned next in your works!  I think I will probably read both books again as I may have missed a vital part or two.  You know how you can watch a movie and then watch it again and see things you never saw the first time?  I believe it will be true with your "Pieces of My Heart" series.   But even if I didn't miss anything, I would so enjoy reading them again anyway.

David, I will recommend your books to all my friends and family.  But I will tell them it comes with a "WARNING" to "hold on tight" and take a whole box of tissues with them when they read until they find out what their "cry rate" is!  

Thanks again,
Kandi S.


Terri L.'s Journey - Pasadena, Tx.

Back to Top

January 9th, 2013
MY HUMBLE OPINION:
I'm not a reader. I'll read about a couple of paragraphs and I'm on my way out. If the question was ever asked to me; if there was something you could change about yourself, what would it be? Hands down I would say I want to be a reader. But with David's writing I just cant walk away. I tire very quickly of paragraph after paragraph of text but that never happens with David. Check him out. Its always either fun, or it's moving. Gotta love this guys writings. WELL worth your time! Thx David for always sharing the good stuff of life!


Kim D.'s Journey - Meridian, Idaho

Back to Top

November 3rd, 2012
David,

I have been meaning to send this to you since yesterday morning. I have time committed to read at least one of your short stories each morning before I get on with my day. So, I get my coffee and jump back under the covers to read your next story. Why I don't grab the roll of toilet paper before I start to read your story is beyond me but I have to stop and get something to hold back the tears.

PLEASE don't get me wrong about the tears because they are not of sadness, but of being able to relate and even laugh at what makes us all so much the same and walk the same in life. I love your book and will continue to make it a part of my morning coffee and quiet time.

Because of your book, I've had the luxury to reflect on my past and I have a better vision of my future and how I face it. I have so much more to face in the next few months but as you see it and as it is written, I will be a much better and stronger person for what is ahead of me. Your book is amazing and I would like to share it in some stockings at Christmas.

Do whatever you need to do to get this book into the hands of people that need it. It is such an inspiration and fun to read. Now, about those clowns...You were asking for that water balloon! Ha!

Kim

November 16th, 2012
Hi David,

This morning (6 am) I grabbed a cup of coffee and headed to my home office to start off the day. Today I decided I really needed a story. So I turned around and crawled back under the covers to read another chapter of PIECES OF MY HEART. I pace and savor your book because each story gives me just enough to think about throughout the day.

I wanted to make a comment in that this is a good “guy” book for the guys that claim they don’t like to read. The stories are short but packed with meaningful and powerful stories. I think if more people took a chapter a day before they left the house they might have a different look at what is going on around them and maybe there would be more kindness and peace in their day.

Perhaps they won’t need to flip off the driver that wasn’t driving the way they should be according to the road rage committee. Or, maybe give the coworker a little bit of a break when they are having a tough day. I don’t know, I could be just hoping but wouldn’t it be nice. Just by reading a four page story from your book!

Your stories relate to my situations and give me a chance to see a positive side. Also, it gives me a different way of looking at the whole situation.

If I didn’t know any better I would think you wrote Chapter 13 for my son. “Pressing Up an On” has a lot of messages for me as well. I am a weed today! Thank You!

I can’t wait for Dustin to read Chapter 13 with me.

Kim

December 7th, 2012
Hi David,

It seem so much is going on in my life right now that I have set aside the things that give me faith and hope…your book being one of them.  I am flying to Seattle this weekend for some R&R (they are telling me). But I really am hoping to have some time to myself to read more of your book, probably on the airplane and of course under the covers where I have my quiet time.

If you want to use my responses to what you have given to me, then please do.  If it will help anyone like myself (and it will) then do what you need to do to give it to them.  I'm okay with my name being my whole name.  I really have nothing to hide but more to share.

Kim

January 14th, 2013
Oh David,

Your story "The Warrior" brought on the toilet paper roll this morning.  I really did invest in a box of Kleenex and they are in the drawer on my night stand but I always seem to go for the toilet paper roll.   It must be something from my youth when there were 7 of us running around the house (plus cousins) there was no Kleenex.  It was toilet paper or your sleeve.  Choices were very limited, so I regress. I just washed my PJ's so I want to leave the sleeve for later.

As I mentioned before, I take your book and read when I need a good message.  Lately, I've been needing a good message and found some quiet “me” time.  It seems I've been trying to fight my battles alone when this morning I read "The Warrior."  It seems that I have been given many challenges in my life and sometimes I just can't figure out why me.  I don't understand how some people seem to walk through life untouched.  Do they hide it that well?  How do they do it?  Is my family that messed up or are all families dealing with their own issues but hide it well?

In The Warrior you wrote "Maybe we just don't feel worthy of being loved because we are struggling with a problem that seems to be getting stronger as we grow weaker."  This is how I feel at times and I know Dustin feels it most of the time.  I can only pray that one day he will pick up his shield before his feet hit the floor every morning as I have had to learn to do.  The days I don't and I am unarmed are the times when I feel alone.  I hate feeling alone, especially when I know I don't have to be.  It’s my choice.

Anyway, thank you for "The Warrior."  It was the message I've needed for awhile and you gave it to me this morning.  I'm lucky to have you as a friend.  I know God brought you into my life.  There is no other explanation.  

Well, as always, it’s good to hear from you and discuss your book.  I really enjoy it and I think it’s time to go back and re-read Chapter 13 again.

Kim D.


Deborah W.'s Journey - Woodland Hills, Ca.

Back to Top

September 15th, 2012
Hi David…pages 5, 6 and 7 got to me.  (Note: Deborah is only referencing the, Dedication, About the Cover, From the Publisher and Prologue pages.  She had not even made it to the first story yet, so I knew God was going to take her for a great ride) Well I read the note from the publisher as my sister picked me up for dinner and we both cried.

September 20th, 2012
Oh, I especially love the prayer at the end of the stories.

September 22th, 2012
Good morning to you and your family.  I am loving the journey I am on with God and your book.  I am grateful!  I am on chapter 17.  Good stuff!  I laughed so hard to tears because of me being in the medical field, I know.

September 23th, 2012
Oh, I finished chapters 26-30. (At this, I asked her to keep track of her favorite stories for me.  She continued) The WHOLE book is my favorite story. It is providing a great GOD JOURNEY!  I want to loan it to friends and then I will re-read and journal about it. Stain me to the core LORD!  Hurry!

September 25th, 2012
I just love the journey this book is guiding me on!  Thank you.  I thank God for sure!  It is a great vehicle by which I can take this fellowship with our GOD!  I am now on page 217. 

September 27th, 2012
Thankful for the Journey.  OMGosh…I love chapter 50.

September 30th, 2012
Thank you!  It is finished and was an incredible journey.  I do feel less alone and comforted.

October 3rd, 2012
Oh btw my best gal friend is on her journey with your book!!!


From Amazon By Marilee D. - Boise, Idaho

Reviewed on Amazon

Back to Top

5.0 out of 5 stars - Good Humor, Insight, Inspiration, and Story-Telling
November 5th, 2011
David Wood's writing is a wonderful mixture of humor, insight, inspiration, and story-telling. Each chapter is short, perfect for a devotional daily reading and worth reading in small doses in order to absorb all that is offered in just a few pages at a time. I couldn't stop myself from reading more than just a few pages at a time, however. I eagerly read on to see what emotions the next story would evoke. I laughed out loud at the clever play on words, then contemplated the meaningful applications in each story David Wood tells. This is the kind of book you like to take on a trip, or keep handy at home for a quick read to inspire positive thoughts. My overnight house guests began reading the book while visiting us, then took it home with them to finish it! I don't blame them. I happily bought another one. You will enjoy the authenticity of the author, his stories, and the thoughtful applications for life's ups and downs. I highly recommend this book! Buy more than one, you'll want to give one to a friend!


Stephanie B. – Eagle, Idaho

Back to Top

September 26th, 2011
Hi David,

I got a chance to start your book (progress is slow as I don't get much time to read). I love it! So many times you touch upon a thought or situation that I need to read about. It is truly a God thing. Please keep writing and sharing.

Blessings,
Stephanie B.


Cari H's Journey - Cambridge, Idaho

Back to Top

September 21st, 2011
Hi Dave, I am enjoying your book immensely and sharing it where I can. I plan on giving it out as Christmas presents this year. I am just amazed at how God works. There must be something about butterflies and finding peace with loved ones. You use a butterfly to represent your son and after my sister took her life in May, I was sitting in the yard for what I thought was 15 minutes or so and turned out to be two hours.  God was talking to me and there were butterflies everywhere and I looked at one and kept hearing, “Coni is alright,” and then two hummingbirds came on the scene whipping around and soaring right past my ear. I cannot express the inner peace I felt after that.

It is great to read your stories and see your relationship with God is so close to mine. Your prayers are almost identical to what I ask Him. So, yes, I love your book. :)

Once I am finished, I will advertise on Facebook to ALL my friends but I think the Lord has BIG plans for you. :)

September 27th, 2011
POST ON FACEBOOK - Everyone needs to read this guys book, "Pieces of My Heart" by David L. Wood. I worked with him eight of my ten years at Micron and he is a true Christian. He also writes his own songs and you can find them at the below website. Check it out please, you will be blessed by it.
http://www.davidwoodsongs.com

December 27th, 2011
Hi David, Sorry haven't replied back sooner. I finished your fabulous book. I started reading it like a daily devotional. You did a fantastic job. I didn't get to give it as gifts this year but plan on it throughout the year. Take care.

Demember 30th, 2011 – Cari’s Favorites Stories
Chapter 13 – “Pressing Up and On,” Chapter 7 – “Getting Back in the Game,” Chapter 38 – “Don't Judge a Beater by Its Cover,” are three of my favorites but they all ministered to me. I also loved the one where you were in the Christian book store and let off gas. I could so see you doing that to Denice. Thank you for blessing us with this gift.


Margie C.F.'s Journey - Paradise, N.Y.

Back to Top

September 9th, 2011
Greetings...just completed chap 13.....and crying like a baby. The last page of the chapter touched my heart and the prayer was the frosting on the cake.  I am going through the valley, trying to reach the mountain top and I am in the struggle and heartache of all time.  I posted another note about mountains and my status about bridges....Whoda thunk it? :) Well friend...drying the eyes and on to chapter 14! Be blessed!!

September 11th, 2011
Tah dahhhh. I just finished the book...enjoyed it very much. It reminds me very much of the book I wrote/am writing.  Also another title I was pondering for my book was “The Final Chapter” (lol) and I almost fell over when I saw the word (name) Twiddle! My Nana used to sit and twiddle her thumbs and when I got a little turtle I named it Twiddle. I loved my Nana and loved my turtle. I went online last night to research info about publishers, copyrights, etc. My goodness, it all looked so confusing to me. I guess one day at a time like anything else.  So my friend...you wrote the book, is there a movie?...lol. Thanks again for sharing your life.  It made me see that although we are all different, we are all pretty much the same :) Thank God for Facebook and you and your family!! Peace and blessings!!!

September 12th, 2011
David, what a truly wonderful book! I finished it in only a few days....(with my busy schedule, it was a miracle in and of itself). Thank you for sharing your family, your victories, defeats, and your life. The book spoke to me, and helped me to see some things in my own life. Although we are different, we are all basically the same, and God loves us all!! Thanks again...(uhhhhhhh when does the movie come out...lol). Peace & blessings!!!

September 15th, 2011
Word of mouth is the best advertisement!! My sister who lives in Maryland is on her way to the bookstore to buy the book!!! She wanted to borrow mine....NOT!! My prized possession will NOT leave my home....go buy your own!! LOL!

September 19th, 2011
I so wish they had a love option in addition to the "like!”  Love the book!! Going to read it again, and highlight areas that speak to me :)

December 28th, 2011 – Favorites?
Happy new year to you. I couldn't pin point any one chapter above another.  Each spoke to me in a different way.  To try to pick out favorite chapters, I just can't!!! Everything you wrote was so relevant to so much in my life.